RSS Feed

Black and Tan Brownie with Guinness Ice Cream – Fadó

Odds are you’re already rolling your eyes at this – yet another – blog about food. And I don’t blame you. If you Google “food blog”, 6,130,000 results are returned. Entering “food review blog” will yield 209,000. And a search for “dessert review blog” gets you 213. Nonetheless, here I am, writing just that. Why? Because I love dessert. I love it enough to create a verb to signify the consumption of it and it alone; to intend the title of this blog to be more than just an oh-so-cheesy-yet-hopefully-catchy-enough-to-get-away-with-it play on words. I also find great joy in writing. I’m a victim of the startling post-college realization that, now that I am no longer being conscripted into writing papers that are entirely meaningless to me semester after semester, I actually enjoy doing it. So, my two passions in hand, I head down this road already traveled by many. I’m ok with being one of 213. At least it’s better than one out of 6,130,000. Maybe.

Without further ado, I present you with my pilot dessert review: the Black and Tan Brownie with Guinness Ice Cream from Fadó. Fadó is an Irish restaurant here in the heart of Austin, TX, to which a friend treated me for dinner. I spotted this fellow on the menu early on and, after a meal of Corned Beef and Cabbage Boxty, placed my order.

The hardest part of this? Remembering to stop and take a picture before I dig in.

Let’s start with its foundation, the brownie. Warm, fudgy (in the timeless debate of fudgy vs. cakey brownies, I side with the former), walnut-studded – could have been a tad thicker but, all things considered, a solid start. The main event here, however, was decidedly the ice cream: Guinness-flavored, this unusual find is what caught my eye on the menu. And taste like Guinness it did. It was, however, also sweet enough to be pleasant for a beer unenthusiast such as myself, never letting the stout element become overpowering. I went out on something of a limb when choosing this dish, the line between having something new and something I don’t typically like oftentimes being a fine one, but this dessert allowed me to walk that line beautifully. As for the requisite whipped cream, walnut topping, cherry, and chocolate and caramel sauces, there really isn’t much to say other than that they neither helped nor hindered. Overall, this was a tasty and interesting dessert to whose creators I raise my gla- er, spoonful of Guinness to.

RATING: ★★★★

http://www.fadoirishpub.com/austin/home

Fado Irish Pub and Restaurant on Urbanspoon

One response »

  1. Great blog! Cant wait to see whats next!! Desserting… thats awesome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.