RSS Feed

Drunkie Twinkie – TenOak

Ok, let’s be real. The desserts from last month that I’ve yet to write about? You probably want to read reviews of those just as much as I’d like to eat month-old desserts. And my being busy (lazy) is really no excuse for stale posts. So from hereon out, no more backlogging.

Moving on to today’s review of the dessert I had Wednesday night, before heading to a Trans-Siberian Orchestra concert with a friend. We chose TenOak because it was within walking distance from our office, and I’d been wanting to try it for some time. The dinner menu isn’t large, but its items are varied and interesting – I had the Tempura Battered Peanut Butter & Banana Sandwich, my companion the Braised Pulled Pork Sliders and Mac and Triple-Cheese, and both of us were pleased with our respective selections. As he finished working his way through his almost double order, I pinpointed what I wanted to end the meal with: the Drunkie Twinkie, a “Battered Twinkie. Fried and served with Amy’s Mexican Vanilla ice cream”. I am always up for anything deep fried (probably one of the only tastes I share with Texans), and had yet to try a Twinkie as such. My order was taken, and out came my dessert.

Not even worth a better picture.

What’s missing here? “Battered Twinkie. Fried”? Check. “…and served with Amy’s Mexican Vanilla ice cream”? Nowhere to be found. When I enquired about this conspicuous absence, our waitress informed me that they were out of ice cream. Call me demanding, but I would have liked to be informed of this fact when I placed my order (or at the very least before it was brought out, if it had just come to light), so that I could perhaps choose something else. Having been a server myself in the past, this does not seem like an asinine expectation to have – and yet nary a word was said about it until the dish arrived at the table, and even then I had to be the one to raise the subject. To be fair, the cost of the dish was graciously deducted from the bill without my saying anything about it; but I sincerely would rather have been given the chance to order a dessert they did have the ingredients for, and paid full price for that. My table-waiting history also makes me more forgiving of such mishaps, however, so I did not make issue of it. A restaurant running out of ice cream is not the end of the world.

Or is it? So far as the Drunkie Twinkie goes, it was nothing short of apocalyptic. The nature of deep frying is that whatever it is that is battered, immersed in hot oil and as a result encased in a crisp, solid shell becomes scalding. Roof-of-the-mouth-burning temperatures aside, Twinkies are also very dry – although I may be partially to blame for this second point, for lack of ever having eaten a Twinkie before (forgive me for holding off on trying a food that regularly has jokes made about it for being the only thing, along with cockroaches, that would survive a nuclear holocaust) and so being unaware of the parched nature of those. In essence, what I ended up with was a scorching, desiccated lump. If only there was a food item that was cold, had the potential to liquefy and went well with just about anything sweet…

The rest of night rocked, though. Literally.

RATING: ★

http://www.tenoakaustin.com/

TenOak bourbon house + lounge on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.